Australian Diabetes Educators Association Your trusted partner in diabetes care

2020 CDE of the Year Award Program

2020 CDE of the Year Award Program

Credentialled Diabetes Educators (CDEs) are Australia’s ‘go to’ qualified healthcare specialists for people with diabetes. They are healthcare practitioners qualified to provide a personalised approach to diabetes education and care. They work with other healthcare practitioners and provide services to people with diabetes, empowering and assisting them in dealing with daily self-management. Recognition as a CDE is an assurance to you that these healthcare practitioners will provide high-quality diabetes education and expert advice to help people with diabetes do the hard work of staying well every day.

The CDE of the Year award program is designed to recognise and honour the outstanding achievement and contributions of CDEs in the provision of high-quality diabetes education to empower and demonstrate support for people affected by diabetes. This award program is run by the Australian Diabetes Educators Association and financially supported by Eli Lilly.

Each state and territory will have a winner and from this group, a national winner will be selected to receive the prestigious ‘Jan Baldwin National CDE of the Year’ title. State winners will receive a $1,000 scholarship and the national winner will receive $5,000 scholarship and the opportunity to speak at the 2021 Australasian Diabetes Congress.



Important Dates

  • 2 March: Applications open via SurveyMonkey
  • 26 July, midnight: Applications close
  • 28 August: announcment of the state award winners
  • 6 November: Award Ceremony at the Australasian Diabetes Congress (ADC), Adelaide


CDE of the Year Judging Panel

Nominations will be reviewed by the following members of the CDE of the Year Judging Panel:

  • Rachel Freeman: Professional Services Manager, ADEA, as Chair of Judging Panel
  • Vy Le, Deputy CEO, ADEA
  • Stefanie Johnston: WA Branch Director from the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia
  • Rachelle Ward: a consumer representative on the ADS Medical, Education and Scientific Council
  • Erica Wright: former ADEA President


Selection criteria

The Panel will give consideration to the following selection criteria when reviewing nominations:

  1. Demonstrated excellence in diabetes education 

  2. Leadership and an inspirational role model for diabetes educators 


Please direct all quries to ADEA National Office at or (02) 6173 1000